American Society of Craniofacial Surgery American Society of Craniofacial Surgery
Home Purpose Annual Meeting Members Membership Foundation Meetings of Interest Fellowships Grants Officers Contact

ASCFS Foundation

The American Society of Craniofacial Surgery (ASCFS) created the ASCFS Foundation to serve as the education, research and philanthropic arm of the organization.

The mission of the Foundation is to improve the quality of life of craniofacial patients through education, research and development.

The Foundation will accomplish its mission by supporting education and research through grant and award programs, including lectureships and research scholarships.

We hope that you will consider a donation to the ASCFS Foundation. You may select to give to the general Foundation Fund or you may support one of the current initiatives, created to honor the esteemed founders of the specialty.

Current Initiatives

The Linton A. Whitaker Lecture

Linton A. Whitaker, MD
Linton A. Whitaker, MD
Summary of Dr. Whitaker’s Career Button
Given during the ASCFS Annual Meeting, the Lecturer is given by a person whose work or career exemplifies the very best in the art and science of craniofacial surgery.

Dr. Whitaker had a distinguished career as a master clinician, educator and researcher, which spanned over four decades at the University of Pennsylvania and at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. Stemming from his time spent with Paul Tessier, he was responsible for introducing craniofacial surgery to North America along with Ken Salyer, Fernando Ortiz Monasterio, Ian Munro, Ian Jackson, Henry Kawamoto and Tony Wolfe. Along with these other giants of craniofacial surgery, he founded the premier organization within craniofacial surgery, the International Society of Craniofacial Surgery.

Previous Lecturers:

Jeffrey Fearon, MD
Summary of Dr. Whitaker’s Career Button

Scott Bartlett, MD
Thoughts and Observations on Craniofacial Microsoma

Linton A. Whitaker, MD
Terroir and Cultivation of a Craniofacial Surgeon
The inaugural Lecture was given by Dr. Whitaker himself, as he reflected on the
lessons and principles that had guided him during his own journey through life.

The Kawamoto Best Paper Award

Henry Kawamoto, MD
Henry Kawamoto, MD
Several years ago, the ASCFS began a tradition of recognizing outstanding craniofacial papers presented during the annual meeting. An annual Best Paper Award, was named in honor of Henry Kawamoto, a founding father of the organization and leader in craniofacial surgery. The Kawamoto Best Paper Award provides recognition for the best craniofacial paper presented at the ASCFS annual meeting.

Kawamoto Best Paper Award Winners:

Richard Hopper, MD
Seattle Children’s Hospital

Zoe MacIsaac, MD
University of Pittsburgh

Kenneth Fan, BS

Sanjay Naran, MD
University of Pittsburgh

Pradip R. Shetye, DDS,MDS
Institute of Reconstructive Plastic Surgery
NYU Medical Center

donate online
OR Download Donation Form

Home | Membership | Contact